Photo: Eaton

Photo: Eaton

Eaton’s Procision dual-clutch automatic transmission has won the 2016 Technical Achievement Award from the Truck Writers of North America. The award was presented during the Technology & Maintenance Council’s Annual Meeting & Transportation Technology Exhibition in Nashville.

Eaton's medium-duty, 7-speed Procision is the first commercial vehicle transmission in North America to make use of dual-clutch technology. It consists of two independent but interlocked manual transmissions, each with its own independent clutch. Electronically controlled and hydraulic-actuated gear changes are achieved by pre-selecting the correct gear and "swapping" torque between the two clutches.

The award was accepted by Eaton's Scott Brady, sales manager, strategic accounts.

"Each of this year's contenders brought some real innovation to the table,” said Jim Park, chair of the TWNA Technical Achievement Award committee. “The committee felt Eaton's Procision transmission represented the biggest change from business-as-usual and therefore earned the distinction of most innovative product of the year."

Eaton's Procision was chosen from five finalists through an elimination process that started with more than a dozen products. The four other finalists were Detroit Assurance safety system from Daimler Trucks North America; Meritor Wabco SmartTrac automatic trailer lift axle control system; Phillips Industries Lite-Sentry trailer-chassis light monitoring system; and Silver Eagle Manufacturing's T-Dolly adjustable trailer converter dolly.

“Eaton is honored to receive this award from the Truck Writers of North America,” said Jim Michels, manager, global business communications, Eaton Vehicle Group. “This recognition is the result of a dedicated, cross-functional team working together to bring Procision to the marketplace in order to provide our customers with a truly innovative product that will meet and exceed their unique and diverse needs.”

The award finalists were chosen by the association's Technical Achievement Award committee, including Paul Abelson of Road King and Land Line magazines, John Baxter of Baxter TechWrite and technical director of Advance Diesel Concepts, Tom Berg of Heavy Duty Trucking and Construction Equipment magazines, Peter Carter of Today's Trucking, David Kolman of Fleet Maintenance Magazine and Road King, James Menzies of Truck News and Truck West, and committee chair, Jim Park of Heavy Duty Trucking.

The Truck Writers of North America Technical Achievement Award was first presented in 1991. Each year, the association’s award committee, a panel of editors representing the industry’s major publications chooses five award finalists. To be eligible, a product or service has to show technical innovation, have a wide applicability and availability in trucking, and offer significant benefits.

Founded in 1988, TWNA is a professional organization composed of writers, editors, public relations specialists, marketing personnel and others involved in the business of creating or producing information related to the world of trucking.