Photo via ATA

Photo via ATA

American Trucking Associations recognized the winners of some of the industry’s top honors as part of its annual Management Conference and Exhibition.

Ronald Emenheiser, a truck driver for Walmart Transportation, was recognized at the conference as a winner of the 2015 Bendix National Truck Driving Championships. Eric Vos, a technician for FedEx Freight, was also recognized as the winner of the TMCSuperTech National Technician Skills Competition.

Emenheiser has been a trucker for over 25 years and this year was his second appearance at the National Truck Driving Championships. Vos has over a decade of experience with FedEx freight and earned second-place finishes in 2010, 2013, and 2014.

“Throughout the country, the trucking industry is full of individuals who exhibit a commitment to safety and professionalism each day,” said Bill Graves, ATA president and CEO. “But there are certain individuals who have surpassed the call of duty in demonstrating that commitment,”

ATA also announced its National Truck Driver of the Year, giving the award to James Hylan Grise, a Walmart Transportation driver from Lewisburg, Ky. Grise has been a trucker for over 42 years and, over the course of his career, has accumulated more than 4 million accident-free miles.

Three fleets were honored with the ATA President’s Award for demonstrating innovative approaches to safety. Kenco Transportation Services, PITT Ohio and Roehl Transport Inc., were selected for the award in the under 25 million miles, 25-100 million miles, and over 100 million miles awards respectively.