Starting today, you will be able to put the pedal a little closer to the metal in parts of Ohio.

Legislation signed into law earlier this year pushes the speed limit from 65 mph to 70 mph along rural portions of interstate routes for both trucks and four-wheelers.

In May the Ohio Transportation Department identified the routes that will have the higher speeds, which had already been permitted along the Ohio Turnpike since 2011.

The exact location of the speed limit increases are:

Interstate 70: From the Indiana border in the west to just outside of Wheeling, W.V., in the east, excluding Dayton, Columbus and Zanesville

Interstate 71: From the Jeremiah Morrow Bridge in southwest Ohio to just south of the border of the Cuyahoga/Medina County line in the north, excluding Columbus

Interstate 75: From just outside of Toledo going south until just north of Dayton, excluding Findlay and Lima

Interstate 76: From just outside Akron going east to just west of Youngstown

Interstate 77: From just outside of Canton south to the West Virginia border

Interstate 90: From just outside of Cleveland to the Pennsylvania border

A map from the Ohio DOT shows the routes with the higher limits.