Heavy Duty Trucking Editor-in-Chief Deborah Lockridge was named a Neal Award winner today by American Business Media during the 58th Annual Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards ceremony Friday in New York City, for her article, "9 Ways to Keep Cargo Safe & Secure" in the July 2011 issue of HDT.

The article won in the category of Best Instructional Content. HDT Equipment Editor Jim Park was honored as a finalist in the same category for his April 2011 feature on longer trade cycles.

HDT was the only trucking fleet magazine to win a Neal Award. This is Lockridge's eighth Neal Award in her 22 years of covering trucking; in addition she was on teams that won two Grand Neal awards and has also been a Neal finalist/certificate of merit honoree seven times.

The judging panel, chaired by Paul Maidment of Bystander Media, selected 40 Neal Award winners out of 120 finalists from an original 725 entries.

Often hailed as the "Pulitzer Prize of the business media," ABM's Neal Award is the B2B industry's salute to individual editors. Winning entries were selected for exhibiting journalistic enterprise, service to the field and editorial craftsmanship.

Entries are divided into three classifications according to the publication's advertising and circulation revenue, with 12 editorial categories within each size classification and six categories that do not require revenue figures. Material must have been published between Dec. 1, 2010, and Nov. 30, 2011.

Established in 1955, the Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards recognize and reward editorial excellence in business media. The awards are named after ABM's first managing director who remained active in promoting the industry throughout his life.