Ray Lahood, U.S. Transportation Secretary, announced Monday that almost $1.6 billion in funding will go toward the repair of U.S. roads and bridges that were damaged by natural disasters.

The Federal Highway Administration, through its Emergency Relief Program, will distribute $1.58 billion to 30 states, American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico and federal land management agencies to reimburse them for repairs made after storms, flooding, hurricanes and other natural disasters.

The money will reimburse states for fixing or replacing highways, bridges and other roadway structures. Also eligible for reimbursement are costs for debris removal, detours and any other immediate measures necessary to restore traffic flow.

The following are some states that will receive funding:
- Vermont, which was hit by Hurricane Irene, will receive $125.6 million
- North Dakota, whose Devils Lake Basin was damaged by runoff in Spring 2011, will receive $89.1 million
- Iowa, which suffered damage during the Missouri River flooding in May 2011, will receive $37.5 million

A complete list of all locations receiving funding and funding amounts can be found at here: http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/pressroom/fhwa1202.htm .