The American Trucking Associations' Safety Management Council announced its 2010 award winners at its Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition in Rogers, Ark., this week.

2010 ATA President's Trophy

The ATA President's Trophy recognizes the three companies whose fleets have been judged to have the best overall safety programs from the Truck & Industrial Safety Contests. These Contests judge motor carrier from across the United States on their safety accomplishments and safety records relative to others within their operation type and size. The top three ATA President's Trophy recipients are honored for their superior safety achievements, outstanding commitment to industrywide safety and extensive promotion of safety among all highway users.

* Large fleet winner (over 100 million miles annually): ABF Freight System, Fort Smith, Ark. ABF is the only six-time winner of this award.
* Mid-size fleet winner (between 25-100 million miles annually): Dupre Logistics, Lafayette, La.
* Small fleet winner (under 25 million miles annually): TCW / Tennessee Express, Nashville, Tenn.

ATA National Driver of the Year

The National Driver of the Year recognizes one professional truck driver for his/her exemplary accomplishments and excellent driving attributes, including the driver's driving record, willingness to assist others on the highway and/or other community service and heroic deeds. This year's winner is Anthony "Tony" A. Jones, Central Freight Lines, Houston, Texas.

National Safety Director of the Year

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the National Safety Director Award, which recognizes a motor carrier safety executive whose professional qualifications, safety programs and achievements are deemed most outstanding among his or her peers.

This year's winner is Dean Newell, CDS, Maverick Transportation, North Little Rock, Ark.

Excellence in Safety

The ATA State Association Recognition Program is designed to applaud those state trucking associations affiliated with ATA, which effectively foster and promote highway safety programs within their borders for the greater good of the trucking industry and all highway users. The recipient is the Colorado Motor Carriers Association.

Leadership Award

The Safety Management Council's annual Leadership Award recognizes the individual who has gone above and beyond in supporting and promoting the council; who has provided constant input to the executive director; and who has led the council membership in advancing SMC programs, membership and outreach. The winner is Patti Gillette, Ph.D., Colorado Motor Carriers Association.