Heavy Duty Trucking editors are finalists for two prestigious Jesse H. Neal awards from the American Business Media for the June 2008 Fuel Crisis Survival special issue.

The special issue, which was entirely devoted to helping truck owners find ways to cut costs on fuel as diesel costs shot up to over $5 per gallon in some areas, was honored for both the Best Series of Articles and Best Theme Issue.

Announcement of the awards will take place during a ceremony March 19 at The Union League Club in New York City.

As fuel suddenly became the most critical issue facing the trucking industry, with thousands of truckers shutting down their operations, unable to afford to fill the tanks, HDT editors switched the editorial plan for the June issue and focused all features, columns and editorials in the book on helping the industry cope with the worst fuel crisis in history.

"Fuel Crisis Survival" includes: Analysis of the causes and industry efforts to push for help in Washington; how the strong small fleets and owner-operators are surviving; driving tips for economy; truckstop electrification to reduce idling; onboard idling solutions; specs for economy; hybrid trucks; tire pressure and economy; trailer aerodynamics; technology solutions; driver behavior for economy.

HDT had more requests for extra issues of Fuel Crisis Survival than any other in the publication's history. It was also used to create an online driver training program that was offered free to truck fleets. And a leading industry association, with the magazine's permission, posted the contents of the issue on its Web site to help members cope.

Winning editors for the Fuel Series are Editorial Director Deborah Whistler, Washington Editor Oliver Patton, Senior Managing Editor Deborah Lockridge, Senior Editor Bette Garber, Senior Equipment Editor Tom Berg, Executive Editor Steve Sturgess, Equipment Editor Jim Park, and Technology Editor Jim Beach.

The Jesse H. Neal Awards, which have been called "the Pulitzer Prize of the business media," are the most prestigious and sought-after editorial honors among the business-to-business/trade press. Named after ABM's first managing director, who remained active in promoting the business media throughout his life, the Neal Awards were established in 1955 to recognize and reward editorial excellence in business media publications. Today it attracts more than 1,000 entries each year.

You can read the June issue online in the HDT archives.