As the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration prepares for the first public hearing on proposed changes to its truck driver hours of service rules Wednesday, Congress has a bill that would prevent the agency from implementing the changes.
The Washington, D.C., hearing launches a series of eight public sessions to be held nationally for the safety agency to gather reaction to its controversial proposal. Among those scheduled to testify are trucker groups such as the Owner-Operator Independent Driver Assn. and American Trucking Assns., and safety advocates such as Parents Against Tired Truckers.

The bill prohibiting completion of the rule was introduced by Rep. Lee Terry, R-Neb., and cosponsored by Reps. Doug Bereuter, R-Neb., Gary Miller, R-Calif., and Bob Stump, R-Ariz. Terry, Bereuter and Miller are members of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.
In addition to preventing the agency from completing the rule, it would require the agency to grant a 90-day extension of the comment period. Sources last week indicated the agency is willing to grant a 30-day extension, provided the time is needed to gather useful data.
At this point there is no companion legislation in the Senate.
Here is the witness list for the May 31- June 1 hearing.
* David Osiecki, vice president of safety, American Trucking Assns., Alexandria, Va.
* David Owen, president, National Assn. of Small Trucking Companies, Hendersonville, Tenn.
* Todd Spencer, executive vice president, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Assn., Grain Valley, Mo.
* Randy C. Jones, fleet manager, Orndorff & Spaid, Beltsville, Md.
* Richard Metz, safety director, Thompson Trucking, Concord, Va.
* Kevin M. Williams, CEO, Distribution and LTL Carriers Assn., Alexandria, Va.
* John D. Perfetti, president and CEO, and John A. Perfetti, vice president and COO, Perfetti Trucking, Blairsville, Pa.
* Richard L. Harrell, III, president, R. O. Harrell, Inc., South Boston, Va.
* William Molnar, executive vice president, Baltimore Tank Lines, Glen Burnie, Md.
* William Colfelt, president, Colfelt Transport, Westminster, Md.
* Richard Eanes, executive vice president, Warren Trucking Co., Martinsville, Va.
* Timothy P. Lynch, president and CEO, Motor Freight Carriers Assn., Washington, D.C.
* Ron Linkous, president and CEO, Con-Way Truckload Services, Fort Worth, Texas
* Bob Rothstein, general counsel, Truckload Carriers Assn., Alexandria, Va.
* Roger H. Monroe, Independent Truck Driver, Bridgeport, N.Y.
* Dan Connell, director of safety, Great Coastal Express, Chester, Va.
* Jim Noble, director of safety programs, National Private Truck Council, Alexandria, Va.

* Sgt. Donald C. Bridge, Jr., Enforcement Section, Connecticut Division of Motor Vehicles, Wethersfield, Conn., for the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance.

* Philip Squair, director of regulatory affairs, National Propane Gas Assn., Washington, D.C.
* Larry Brown, distribution director, Rocco, Inc., Edinburg, Va.
* Melissa Young, government affairs counsel, Petroleum Marketing Assn. of America, Arlington, Va.
* Ed Rastatter, director of policy, National Industrial Transportation Assn., Alexandria, Va.
* John Cutler, general counsel, National Small Shipments Traffic Conference, Health and Personal Care Distribution Conference, Washington, D.C.
* Earl Eisenhart, president, Government Relations Services, Washington, D.C., for the Snack Food Assn.
* Terry Aldridge, vice president and general manager, Tarmac America, Inc., Virginia Beach, Va.
* Clarron Render, president, Northern Concrete Group, Springfield, Va.

* Tony Reynolds, product manager, VDO North America, Winchester, Va.

Third Parties:
* Robert A. Voltman, executive director and CEO, Transportation Intermediaries Assn., Alexandria, Va.

Safety Advocates:
* Daphne Izer, co-chair, Parents Against Tired Truckers, Lisbon Falls, Maine.
* Gerald Donaldson, research director, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety, Washington, D.C.

* Dan Sherwin, safety specialist, Allegheny Power, Greensburg, Pa.
* Jimmy Lanir, operations manager, Randolph Electric Membership Corp., Asheboro, N.C.
* Tommy Greer, director of job training and safety, North Carolina Assn. of Electric Coops, Raleigh.
* Jean Thrasher, operations manager, Community Electric Coop, Windsor, Va.
* Rick Tempchin, director of transportation policy, Edison Electric Institute, Washington, D.C.
* Richard Anderson, fleet safety supervisor, Baltimore Gas & Electric Co., Baltimore.
* Standford Wells, transportation regulations specialist, Virginia Power, Richmond.

* Godfrey, Lebron, Owner, Paradise Tours, Elmont, N.Y., for the United Motor Coach Assn.
* Ronald Eyre, president, Eyre Bus Service, Glenelg, Md.
* Peter Pantuso, president and CEO, American Bus Assn., Washington, D.C.
* John Taylor, vice president of driver operations, Greyhound Lines, Dallas.
* Francis Tedesco, president, Academy Bus Tours, Hoboken, N.J.
* Randy Julian, president, Julian Tours, Alexandria, Va.

* Michael Palmer, executive director, Student and Youth Travel Assn. of North America, Lake Orion, Mich.
* Robert Scott, executive director, National Limousine Assn., Lexington, Ky.