Walter Carter, an independent contractor with PFT/Roberson of Champaign, IL, was named "1999 Independent Contractor of the Year" in ceremonies held last week during the Truckload Carriers Assn. annual meeting. Annual Meeting.

Carter has been driving trucks for over 48 years and has been affiliated with PFT/Roberson for the past nine. He has driven more than 4.2 million miles without an accident or moving violation. He was the 1998 Illinois Driver of the Year and received second place in last year's TCA Independent Contractor of the Year contest.
In a statement prepared as part of the contest application process, Walter's company wrote: "Walter's attitude and demeanor toward his shippers and receivers is virtually unparalleled. Walter has a very clear understanding of the crucial importance in satisfying and nurturing customer relationships. He understands that what we sell is service; he takes this role seriously and makes safety and excellent service his top priorities."
Carter won a 2001 International premium conventional or cabover tractor donated by International Truck & Engine Corp., complete with a Signature 600 Engine donated by Cummins Engine. He also received thousands of dollars in cash, prizes and U.S. Savings Bonds.
The other winners were:
2nd Place -- Ronald Fugiasco, Frozen Food Express, Dallas, TX
3rd Place -- Roger Patterson, Warren Transport, Inc., Waterloo, IA
4th Place -- Scott McCurry, Umthun Trucking Company, Eagle Grove, IA
5th Place -- Frederick Vorwald, Warren Transport, Inc., Waterloo, IA
6th Place -- Patricia Rauschnot, Dart Transit Company, Eagan, MN
7th Place -- Lester Young, PFT/Roberson, Champaign, IL
8th Place -- George Cumbie, Fleetline, Inc., Lancaster, TX
9th Place -- Earl Faro, Sammons Trucking, Missoula, MT
10th Place -- Ronald and Patricia Medlock, Sherman Bros. Trucking, Harrisburg, OR