TMC, NASHVILLE -- The Truck Writers of North America have named Mack Trucks’ Twin Y air suspension as the top technical achievement of 2013. The announcement and presentation took place Wednesday at an awards luncheon during the Technology & Maintenance Council's annual meeting and exhibition.

The Technical Achievement Award winner was selected by a panel of trucking journalists headed by James Menzies of Truck News and Truck West in Canada, and included Tom Berg and Jim Park of Heavy Duty Trucking. Other committee members were Paul Abelson, of Land Line and Road King; John Baxter, a freelance writer; Peter Carter, Today’s Trucking; and Paul Hartley, Add Media.


Mack’s Twin Y air suspension got the most points in voting by committee members from among six product finalists. The others were Allison’s TC10 automatic transmission; Detroit’s DT12 automated mechanical transmission; Eaton’s Fuller Advantage Series manual transmission; Innovative Trailer Design’s Walmart SuperCube trailer; and Truck-Lite’s modular LED headlamps.

According to Mack, the Twin Y is the industry’s first suspension to use a Y-shaped high-strength steel design. Along with good handling, stable ride and extended drive-tire life, it is as much as 403 pounds lighter than other air suspensions on the market.

“At a time when so many fleets are looking to reduce weight, we found the simple design of Mack’s Twin Y Air Suspension to be a significant achievement that can be easily implemented to increase payload and improve productivity,” said Menzies, the committee chairman.

“When you cut weight and simplify a component at the same time, and it still works well, that’s a winner,” added committee member Berg.

The very first Technical Achievement Award was presented in 1991 to Grote Industries for its red LED marker light. Since receiving the inaugural award, Grote has sponsored the annual trophy.

Founded in 1988, TWNA is an organization of professional writers, editors, public relations specialists, marketing personnel and others involved in the business of creating or producing information related to the world of trucking. 

Previous winners of the annual TWNA Technical Achievement Award are:

  • Meritor FueLite 6×2 Axle with Meritor Wabco electronic controls – 2012
  • Volvo Trucks’ XE13 Powertrain Package – 2011
  • Bose Ride seat system – 2010
  • ArvinMeritor PlatinumShield brake shoes – 2009
  • Detroit Diesel DD15 Engine with turbo compounding – 2008
  • Michelin Durable Technologies tire series – 2007
  • Cummins Filtration’s Fleetguard User Friendly Filters – 2006
  • Carrier Transicold Deltek “hybrid” diesel-electric refrigeration unit – 2005
  • ConMet’s TruTurn brake drum – 2004
  • Meritor-Wabco anti-rollover system – 2003
  • Bendix XVision night vision system – 2002
  • XM Satellite Radio – 2001
  • ZF Meritor Freedom Line automated mechanical heavy duty truck transmission – 2000
  • Donaldson Silent Partner muffler – 1999
  • Cummins Signature 600 engine – 1998
  • Eaton Fuller AutoShift automated mechanical transmission – 1997
  • Rockwell Automotive Engine Synchro Shift (ESS) transmission – 1996
  • International 9800 cabover with flat floor – 1995
  • Caterpillar Engine and Navistar International (joint award) for the HEUI (Hydraulic-actuated Electronically-controlled Unit Injectors) fuel system for diesels – 1994
  • Goodyear Tire & Rubber G300 tire – 1993
  • Cummins ESP variable power engine line – 1992
  • Grote Industries LED red clearance-marker lamp – 1991