Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood announced the members of the National Freight Advisory Committee, which will provide advice and recommendations aimed at improving the national freight transportation system.

The Advisory Committee is made up of 47 voting members from outside the Department of Transportation. The Deputy Secretary and Under Secretary of Transportation for Policy, as well as representatives from other federal agencies with freight-related obligations will serve as ex-officio members. Members come with various perspectives on freight transportation and represent various modes of transportation, geographic regions, and policy areas. Freight customers and providers, labor representatives, safety experts and government entities are all represented as well.  

Members will serve two-year terms and meet at least three times per year. The first NFAC meeting is scheduled for June 25 at the Department of Transportation and will include an overview of MAP-21 Freight provisions and preliminary identification of NFAC activities. The meeting is open to the public. Information regarding the meeting will be available in the Federal Register.

The U.S. Department of Transportation solicited nominations in February. LaHood selected members with input from the MAP-21 Freight Implementation Team as well as the Freight Policy Council, an internal body of DOT leadership created to facilitate cross-modal implementation of freight provisions in the recently signed surface transportation bill, Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century, or MAP-21.

MAP-21 established a national freight policy and called for the creation of a National Freight Strategic Plan. The Advisory Committee will provide recommendations to the Secretary of Transportation on how DOT can improve its freight transportation policies and programs.

The National Freight Advisory Committee members are: 

  • Stephen Alterman, Cargo Airline Association

  • Gregory A. Ballard, City of Indianapolis

  • Kevin L. Brubaker, Environmental Law & Policy Center

  • Jeffrey Burns, Parents Against Tired Truckers and Citizens for Reliable and Safe Highways

  • Terry Button, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association

  • Anne Canby, OneRail

  • Joan Claybrook, Public Citizen

  • Kristin Decas, Port of Hueneme

  • Mortimer L. Downey III, CAGTC

  • John H. Eaves, Fulton County

  • John E. Fenton, Patriot Rail Corp

  • Karen Flynn, Arkema Inc.

  • Carlos A. Gimenez, Miami-Dade County

  • Genevieve Giuliano, University of Southern California Sol Price School of Public Policy

  • John Thomas Gray II, Association of American Railroads

  • Rhonda Hamm-Niebruegge, Lambert International Airport

  • Brad Hildebrand, Cargill Inc.

  • Stacey D. Hodge, New York City Department of Transportation
  • James P. Hoffa, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

  • José Holguín-Veras, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Jack Holmes, UPS Freight

  • Richard Inclima, Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees Division of the Teamster Rail Conference

  • Frances Lee Inman, Majestic Realty Co.

  • Randell Iwasaki, Contra Costa Transportation Authority

  • Michael Jewell, Marine Engineers’ Beneficial Association, AFL-CIO

  • Paul R. Kelly, A & S Service Group

  • Paul C. LaMarre III, Port of Monroe

  • Michelle Livingstone, The Home Depot

  • Bonnie Lowenthal, State of California

  • Andrew S. Lynn, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

  • C. Randal Mullett, Con-way Inc.

  • Rosa Navejar, The Rios Group

  • Michael Nutter, City of Philadelphia

  • Gary A. Palmer, True Value Company

  • Craig Philip, Ingram Barge Company
  • John Previsich, SMART – Transportation Division

  • William Roberson, Nucor Steel – Berkeley

  • Christopher T. Rodgers, Douglas County, National Association of Counties

  • Mark Andrew Savage, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance/Colorado State Patrol

  • Karen Schmidt, Freight Mobility Strategic Investment Board

  • Ann Schneider, Illinois DOT

  • Ricky D. Smith, Department of Port Control, Cleveland Airport

  • Mike Tooley, Montana DOT

  • Peter G. Vigue, Cianbro Companies

  • Michael C. Walton, University of Texas Austin

  • A.C. Warton, City of Memphis

  • Leonard Waterworth, Port of Houston Authority