LAS VEGAS -- Cathy Gautreaux was named the winner of the American Trucking Associations President's Trucking Association Executives Council Leadership Award during the group's annual Management Conference & Exhibition Monday.

Gautreaux, the executive director of the Louisiana Motor Transport Association, was honored for her leadership, dedication and achievements on behalf of the trucking industry in Louisiana.

"Our state trucking associations are crucial to the success of American Trucking Associations," said ATA President and CEO Bill Graves. "Cathy has advocated vigorously on behalf of the entire trucking industry. From her tireless efforts on the anti-indemnification issue in Louisiana, to her annual visits with the Call on Washington program and her support of the industry's image and outreach programs, Cathy is recognized as an untouchable advocate of ATA and the industry."

The President's TAEC Leadership Award was created by ATA and sponsored by J.J. Keller in 2002 to honor a state trucking association leader and to create an enduring legacy for that leader and for the industry. The award comes with a $10,000 grant for a non-profit 501(c)(3) trucking education or research organization chosen by Gautreaux.

"It is wonderful to see Cathy receive this kind of recognition," said John Hausladen, president of the Minnesota Trucking Association, current TAEC chairman and a previous winner of the President's TAEC Leadership Award. "Cathy has always been a strong advocate for the trucking industry and a staunch supporter of the ATA federation."

TAEC is made up of staff executives of state trucking associations and conferences affiliated with the American Trucking Associations.