The Trucking Association Executives' Council recently elected John Hausladen as national chairman for the 2012-2013 term at its annual meeting in Park City, Utah.

A resident of Corcoran, Minn., Hausladen has been president and CEO of the Minnesota Trucking Association since 1996 and has spent the last 30 years in association work. His passions include improving highway safety as well as improving the public image of the trucking industry.

Hausladen currently serves on the Minnesota Department of Transportation Freight Advisory Committee, steering committee of the Clean Air Dialogue of the Environmental Initiative and is the TAEC representative to the American Trucking Associations' Executive Committee.

Other national officers elected for the 2012-2013 term include Anne Lynch, president of the Massachusetts Motor Truck Association, as national vice chairman; and Elisabeth Barna, vice president of Image and Outreach Advocacy of the American Trucking Associations, as national secretary and treasurer.

Regional chairman elected for the 2012-2013 term include Louis Campion, executive director of the Maryland Motor Truck Association, Region I (Northeast); Jan Vineyard, president of the West Virginia Trucking Association, Region II (Southeast); Matt Hart, president of the Illinois Trucking Association, Region III (Midwest); and Aves Thompson, president of the Alaska Trucking Association, Region IV (West).

The group of state trucking association executives thanked outgoing National Chairman Greg Fulton, president of the Colorado Motor Carriers Association, for his leadership and dedication during the past year.

TAEC recognized former ATA Senior Vice President & General Counsel Robert Digge, Jr. with the 18th J.R. "Bob" Halladay Award, named after former ATA Senior Vice President for Federation Relations Bob Halladay. The award recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions in assisting and supporting the work and efforts of ATA's 50 state trucking associations. Digges retired from ATA in December 2011.

Among the issues discussed during the meeting were highway funding, public private partnerships, tolling, independent contractor issues, anti-indemnification efforts and the newly enacted MAP-21 highway funding bill.