NAFA Fleet Management Association's Safety Advisory Council announced the winners of its inaugural Safety Leadership Awards, which will be presented at NAFA's 2012 Institute & Expo in St. Louis on April 22.

NAFA's Safety Leadership Awards were created to recognize individuals and organizations that demonstrate positive influence and impact on vehicular and passenger safety. Three leading safety advocates were chosen as the inaugural recipients of the award:

U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood
"During Secretary LaHood's term, he has greatly increased public awareness on the dangers of distracted driving, pushed to improve auto safety, developed and enforced valuable safety regulations, and served as a tireless advocate against drunk driving," says NAFA's executive director Phillip E. Russo, CAE. "His work is a testament to the importance of safe driving."

Jack Hanley, executive director, Network of Employers for Traffic Safety
"Jack Hanley and NETS lead the way in road safety efforts," Russo says. "Through their annual safety benchmark surveys, monthly newsletters, and Drive Safely Work Week campaigns each year, NETS exemplifies everything for which the NAFA Safety Leadership Awards stand."

Janet Froetscher, president & CEO, National Safety Council
"The National Safety Council saves lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work," Russo says. "In fact, the Council helped save more than 1,500 lives and prevent more than 236,000 injuries last year alone; truly a remarkable job by Janet Froetscher and the National Safety Council."

All three recipients will be honored in a special awards ceremony during the Institute & Expo.