The nation's top van operators and safest company fleets in the U.S. moving industry during 2011 have been selected for annual honors by the American Moving & Storage Association.

AMSA's Super Van awards recognize drivers who provide safe, reliable, and customer-oriented household goods truck transportation. Judging criteria include miles driven, accidents (preventable or non-preventable), lifetime driving record, time out of service for any hours-of-service or equipment violations, financial responsibility, community involvement, customer service, driving awards and outside interests and activities.

- The 2011 Super Van Operator Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Stephen Schrader of Rib Lake, Wisc., who drives for Graebel Van Lines in Aurora, Colo.

- Charles Allen of Colorado Springs, Colo., who drives for Atlas Van Lines based in Evansville, Ind., is Super Van Operator for Special Commodities.

- Billy Chafin, Jr. of Paradise, Utah, a driver for All American Moving Group in Memphis, Tenn. (a Mayflower Transit agent) picks up Super Van Operator honors in the Household Goods category.

- Rookie Super Van Operator for 2011 is Stephen Nichols of Stevensville, Mont., who drives for Rocky Mountain Moving and Storage in Missouri, Mont. (an Allied Van Lines agent).

AMSA also presents six annual fleet safety awards.

- Graebel Van Lines of Aurora, Colo. wins the 2011 Fleet Safety Initiative Award, which recognizes a carrier's leadership and creativity in one component of its safety program. The company implemented a wide-ranging set of programs and policies, which significantly reduced or eliminated violations identified during roadside safety checks under the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's Comprehensive Safety Analysis (CSA) program.

- The 2011 Fleet Safety Award winner in the over 50 million miles category is United Van Lines of Fenton, Mo.

- Graebel Van Lines of Aurora, Colo. receives the award in the 20 million to 50 million miles category.

- The five to 20 million miles award goes to Chicago's New World Van Lines for a fourth year in a row.

- Interstate Worldwide Relocation of Springfield, Va. picks up an award in the under five million miles category for the second consecutive year.

- Finally, Fry-Wagner Moving & Storage, a United agent based in Lenexa, Kan., wins the award in the intrastate category.

Fleet awards are given to carriers demonstrating the best overall safety performance during the year. All of the winners have been certified as ProMovers, AMSA's program to help consumers easily identify a quality, professional mover.

"AMSA congratulates these exemplary drivers and companies," said AMSA President & CEO Linda Bauer Darr. "They have demonstrated the highest level of dedication to safety for their customers and themselves during the past year, and as a result have enhanced our industry's image and record by being strongly committed to safe operations."

All awards will be presented during AMSA's 2012 Education Conference & Expo in Las Vegas from February 12-15.