The Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association has chosen Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.) and Rep. Geoff Davis (R-Ky.) as this year's recipients of the Joseph M. Magliochetti Industry Champion Award, given to elected officials who have shown outstanding leadership on behalf of motor vehicle parts manufacturers.

The Industry Champion Award is given each year in the memory of Joseph M. Magliochetti, a former MEMA chairman who also served as the chairman and CEO of Dana Corp. until his death in 2003.

Stabenow and Davis will receive the award at MEMA's Legislative Summit, March 2-3.

"Both Sen. Stabenow and Rep. Davis are keenly aware of the significance of parts suppliers to the economies of their communities and the whole nation," said Bob McKenna, president and CEO MEMA.

He specifically mentioned Stabenow's leadership on the Advanced Vehicle Technology Act in the Senate; her work to address needed changes in the Sec. 136 loan program to make it more accessible to suppliers and extending it to medium- and heavy-duty technology; her leadership on the Commercial Motor Vehicle Advanced Safety Technology Tax Act; and her steadfast support of R&D tax credit bills.

McKenna praised Davis' solid record in the House of supporting supplier priorities, highlighting his role as a lead sponsor of the Commercial Motor Vehicle Advanced Safety Technology Tax Act, his co-sponsorship of R&D tax credit bills, his vote in favor of the Advanced Vehicle Technology Act, his leadership on the REINS Act, and his voice of reason on problematic issues for domestic manufacturers.