Six more co-sponsors have joined the effort to push through the Motor Vehicle Owners' Right to Repair Act recently
, according to Kathleen Schmatz, president and CEO of the Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association.

Reps. Steve Cohen (D-TN), Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX), Barbara Lee (D-CA), John Lewis (D-GA), Donald M. Payne (D-NJ) and David Price (D-NC) are the newest to voice their approval, bringing the total number of supporters up to 30.

Because vehicles are becoming increasingly sophisticated with virtually every system either monitored or controlled by computers, servicing these vehicle systems to keep them in safe working condition requires ready access to complete and accurate information, tools and software from the car companies. Reps. Towns (D-NY), Eshoo (D-CA) and Miller (D-CA) introduced the Right to Repair Act into the 111th Congress to ensure that car owners, and not the car companies and their dealers, are in the driver's seat when it comes to where and by whom repairs to their vehicle are performed.

Although much of the discussion involves car owners, the bill would apply to all vehicles, including heavy-duty commercial trucks.

A complete list of co-sponsors and a copy of the Motor Vehicle Owners' Right to Repair Act (HR 2057) can be found by visiting