The Motor Vehicle Owners' Right to Repair Act has garnered additional support from seven members of Congress.

The total of 23 co-sponsors now includes Reps. Bob Etheridge (D-NC), Bob Filner (D-CA), Phil Hare (D-IL), Michael Honda (D-CA), Steven Rothman (D-NJ), Joe Sestak (D-PA) and Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH).

"We applaud these seven members of Congress for supporting this critical piece of legislation which ensures the continued availability of convenient and affordable vehicle repairs for consumers," said Kathleen Schmatz, president and CEO of the Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association.

Because vehicles are becoming increasingly sophisticated with virtually every system either monitored or controlled by computers, servicing these vehicle systems requires ready access to complete and accurate information, tools and software from vehicle manufacturers. Reps. Towns (D-NY), Eshoo (D-CA) and Miller (D-CA) introduced the Right to Repair Act earlier this year. Although it is primarily aimed at the auto business, the language in the bill would affect commercial vehicle repair as well.

"Right to Repair has gained more importance as motorists seek new neighborhood repair shops because a dealership has closed in their area," Schmatz said. "This bill ensures equitable access to repair information, protecting consumers' right to select the repair facility of their choice, while also protecting car company trade secrets."

A complete list of co-sponsors and a copy of the Motor Vehicle Owners' Right to Repair Act (HR 2057) can be found by visiting