Garth Pitzel, associate VP of Safety and Driver Development for Bison Transport (left), and...

Garth Pitzel, associate VP of Safety and Driver Development for Bison Transport (left), and Emory Mills, sirector of Safety and Driver Administration at FTC, accept the TCA safety awards for their companies.

Photos: TCA

The Truckload Carriers Association 2023 Annual Convention, Truckload 2023: Orlando, culminated with the announcement of the 2022 TCA Fleet Safety Awards Grand Prize.

FTC Transportation of Oklahoma City took the top honors in the small carrier division (total annual mileage of less than 25 million). FTC Transportation is the core carrier for Feed The Children.

Bison Transport of Winnipeg, Manitoba, won the large carrier division (total annual mileage of 25 million or more), for the 14th consecutive year

Both carriers demonstrated that they had exceptional safety programs and impressive accident frequency ratios over the last year.

Both companies, as well as all carriers that placed in the top three of their mileage-based divisions, will be recognized again during TCA’s 2023 Safety & Security Meeting, June 11-13 in San Antonio, Texas.

“TCA is proud to recognize FTC Transportation and Bison Transport for their outstanding achievements in safety,” said TCA president Jim Ward in a statement. “This year, we received the most entries ever in the history of the Fleet Safety Awards, showing that TCA members are truly industry leaders when it comes to safety. FTC Transportation and Bison are very deserving of the Grand Prize as a symbol of their amazing efforts to improve safety on our roadways.”

To be eligible for the TCA Fleet Safety Award Grand Prize, fleets must first submit their accident frequency ratio per million miles driven. The three carriers with the lowest ratios are identified as the winners for each of six mileage-based divisions. These carriers then undergo an audit by independent experts to ensure the accuracy of their results.

TCA announced the names of the 18 division winners in January 2022 and invited them to submit further documentation about their overall safety programs, both on and off the highway, to be eligible for the grand prize. After review by a diverse industry panel of judges, the winning companies were deemed to have best demonstrated their commitment to improving safety on North America’s highways.

The contest is made possible by presenting sponsor, Great West Casualty Company, and supporting sponsors, Detroit Assurance and DriverReach.

About the author
News/Media Release

News/Media Release


Our editorial staff has selected and edited this news release for clarity and brand style because we believe it is relevant to our audience.

View Bio