The Distribution and LTL Carriers Association elected a new chairman, Michael D. Moran, at their recent management conference and exhibition in Tampa, Fla.

Moran is the vice president of family-owned Moran Transportation Corp., based in Elk Grove Village, Ill. He succeeds Glen Merkel of Davis Cartage, based in Corunna, Mich.

The Distribution and LTL Carriers Association also elected: Vice Chairman Marlin Kling, Midwest Motor Express; Treasurer Evan Myers, Myers Transportation; and Robert P. Farrell, President/Secretary of the Board.

Additionally, the board voted to re-establish the annual fall Executive Management Conference based on its value as an educational event for current management and future leaders in the distribution and LTL industries.

Other meeting highlights included presentations by American Trucking Associations President and CEO Bill Graves and ATA First Vice Chairman Tommy Hodges. Greg Feary of the law firm Scopelitis, Garvin, Light, Hanson & Fear also addressed conference attendees.

The Distribution and LTL Carriers Association is affiliated with and managed by ATA.