The law requires drivers to “make a reasonable effort” to remove snow and ice from the hood, truck and roof of vehicles within 24 hours after the snow stops falling under penalty. Penalties range from $50 per offense to $1,000 if the snow/ice has dislodged and causes death or serious bodily harm.
The law won’t apply to vehicles en route to a facility to remove the snow/ice, if removal would require violation of workplace safety laws, or if it would be threat to the health or safety of the driver.
Impact to Truckers
Doug Marcello, shareholder in trucking and commercial transportation at Saxton & Stump, wrote that when trucks on the road are caught in a snow there is no immediate way to safely do it, citing an ATRI study.
Similar laws have been in place before in Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Connecticut, among others.