The Environmental Protection Agency honored industry leaders and organizations as 2011 SmartWay Champions this week during ATA's annual Management Conference and Exhibition in Dallas, Texas.

The SmartWay Champion Award recognizes individuals and teams that have made a strong and lasting contribution to reducing the economic, environmental and energy footprint of goods movement. This marks the first time the agency has honored individuals as SmartWay Champions.

Cheryl Bynum, director of the Smartway Transport Partnership program, was there to present the awards, and noted that the honorees were being recognized for their significant and lasting contributions to the SmartWay program.

These individuals and organizations, she said, "went the extra mile. At key points in SmartWay's, history these individuals rolled up their sleeves… their actions have made it possible for SmartWay and its partners to achive lasting, significant change."

The winners are:

Glen Kedzie, American Trucking Associations

Mitch England, C.R. England

James Jack, Center for Responsible Transportation

Elena Craft and Mark MacLeod, Environmental Defense Fund

IKEA Transport Team

Kristi Noland and Gary Whicker, J.B. Hunt Transport Inc.

Michael Cole, Timothy Dzojko and Harry Haney, Kraft Foods

Steve Palmer and Kevin Perry, Lowe's Companies Inc.

John Sheehy and Mark Whittaker, Pepsico Inc.

Mark Servidio, Sharp Electronics Corp.

Dave Berry, Swift Transportation Corp.

Mike Kelley, YRC Worldwide Inc.

Dave Guernsey, UPS Inc.