National Tank Truck Carriers announced that Superior Carriers, based in Oak Brook, Illinois, won the coveted Outstanding Safety Performance Trophy in the 2013 calendar year safety competition.

The award was presented to Superior Carriers during NTTC’s 66th Annual Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada, on April 29. The Outstanding Safety Performance Trophy is sponsored annually by Heil Trailer International of Athens, Tennessee, and is awarded to the carrier who is deemed to have the best comprehensive safety program in the tank truck industry for 2013 contest year.
Superior Carriers earned the award with an accident frequency of 0.382 accidents per million miles in the 40-90 million miles class of the 2013 Competitive Safety Contest. Superior also earned a Grand Award in the 2013 Personnel Safety Contest with a frequency of 0.91. Randy L. Vaughn, Superiors vice-president of administration, was named NTTC Safety Professional of the Year and will receive his recognition at the upcoming Tank Truck Cleaning & Safety/Security Councils’ Annual Meeting in San Antonio from June 3-6.
Contest judges who determined the winner of the Outstanding Performance Trophy this year are David Cooper, Transportation Security Administration; David Heller, Truckload Carriers Association; SGT. Brian Fennell, New Jersey State Police; and Melissa Townsend, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
The NTTC conducts four annual safety contests each year. These include a Competitive Safety Contest in which carriers compete in separate mileage classes; a Safety Improvement Contest in which a carrier competes against its own record for the previous year; a Personnel Safety Contest that is based on injuries per hours worked; and, the Outstanding Safety Performance Contest.