The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration has extended state and regional emergency declarations it issued earlier for certain deliveries of propane and other home heating fuels.

The move is due to continuing and unusually cold weather in parts of the country, creating shortages and supply disruptions.

It grants exemptions to several Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, including hours of service requirements, under certain conditions.

All have been extended from their upcoming expiration of Feb. 11 to March 1, or through the duration of the emergency, whichever is less.

North Dakota and South Dakota are the two states covered under the Western declaration

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina and Tennessee are covered under the Southern declaration

The Eastern declaration covers the states of: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and West Virginia. 

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio and Wisconsin are those covered by the Midwest declaration