American Trucking Associations’ Safety Management Council announced its 2013 award winners at its Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition in Sparks, Nev. last week.
The ATA President’s Trophy recognizes the three companies whose fleets have been judged to have the best overall safety programs from the Truck & Industrial Safety Contests. These contests judge motor carriers from across the United States on their safety accomplishments and safety records relative to others within their operation type and size.

The top three ATA President’s Trophy recipients are honored for their superior safety achievements, outstanding commitment to industry-wide safety and extensive promotion of safety among all highway users.
2013 ATA President’s Trophy Sponsored by: Great West Casualty Company
Large fleet winner (over 100 million miles annually)
FedEx Ground, Moon Township, Pa.
Mid-size fleet winner (between 25-100 million miles annually)
A. Duie Pyle, West Chester, Pa.
Small fleet winner (under 25 million miles annually)
CVS Transportation, L.L.C., Woonsocket, R.I.

ATA National Driver of the Year Sponsored by: Custard Insurance Adjusters
Gary Babbitt, Central Freight Lines, Dallas, Tex.
National Safety Director of the Year Sponsored by: Great West Casualty Company
Jerry Waddell, Cargo Transporters, Inc., Claremont, N.C.

National Safety Professional Award of ExcellenceSponsored by: Meritor Wabco
Jason Wing, ABF Freight System, Little Rock, Ark.

Excellence in Safety Sponsored by: Great West Casualty Company
North Carolina Trucking Association
ATA's Safety Management Council is a national organization of transportation professionals involved in safety and human resources management for motor carriers and interested organizations. It aims to advance highway and workplace safety through programs, research, education, training, communication and peer interaction.