The Michigan State Police Traffic Safety Division will perform a weeklong enforcement blitz, checking for Unified Carrier Registration, starting July 12.

Those who are not in compliance could face a fine of up to $500 and/or 90 days in jail. Lack of registration is considered a misdemeanor.

All interstate and international motor carriers including brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies must be registered. The fees collected under the program are used for commercial vehicle safety and enforcement programs. Enforcement of the registration will continue after the weeklong check.

To register under the United Carrier Registration program, contact the Michigan Public Service Commission at (517) 241-6030 or visit