West Virginia Could Drop "Speed Cushion" for Trucks
March 1, 2000
Truckers caught going just a few miles over the speed limit in West Virginia could face a much higher fine than a motorist going the same speed if a bill approved by the state Senate becomes law.
Currently, state law gives people caught speeding within 10 mph of the limit a break, with a small $5 fine (plus $67 in court costs). Under the bill, unanimously approved by the Senate Tuesday, truckers would no longer get that cushion. For going 10 mph over the speed limit, the fine could be up to $100 plus court costs.
The bill, SB205, now goes to the state House of Delegates for its approval.