Truck Writers Honor Cummins

March 19, 1999

SHARING TOOLS        | Print Subscribe
The Cummins Signature 600 engine has won the eighth annual Truck Writers of North America Technical Achievement Award, awarded for products introduced in 1998.

It’s the second time the engine maker has received the TWNA honor, having won seven years ago for its ESP engine models. Navistar is the only other two-time winner.
TWNA, an association of trucking journalists in the U.S. and Canada, launched the award in 1991. It honors a new product or service that in some significant way improves the industry. Whole trucks are not eligible.
The 600-horsepower Signature engine broke new ground with its light weight, one-third fewer parts than the N14, a new high-pressure fuel system and other features. Most of that new technology is also found in the Cummins ISX series.
The 1998 Technical Achievement Award was presented to Cummins Automotive Group President Roberto Cordaro by Today’s Trucking editor Rolf Lockwood during a luncheon at the annual meeting of The Maintenance Council in Nashville, TN, last week. Lockwood chairs the TWNA award selection committee.

Comment On This Story

Comment: (Maximum 2000 characters)  
Leave this field empty:
* Please note that every comment is moderated.


We offer e-newsletters that deliver targeted news and information for the entire fleet industry.


ELDs and Telematics

sponsored by
sponsor logo

Scott Sutarik from Geotab will answer your questions and challenges

View All

Sleeper Cab Power

Steve Carlson from Xantrex will answer your questions and challenges

View All