TCA Names Safety Professional of the Year

May 21, 2012

The Truckload Carriers Association's Safety & Security Division named Jerry Waddell, safety director for Cargo Transporters of Claremont, N.C., the association's 2012 Safety Professional of the Year.

Doug Cook (left), chairman of TCA's Safety Division congratulates Jerry Waddell, safety director for Cargo Transporters, on being named the 2012 Clare C. Casey Safety Professional of the Year.

The award, known as the Clare C. Casey Award, was presented during the division's 31st annual Safety & Security Meeting in Norman, Okla.

The Safety Professional of the Year award recognizes a person whose actions and achievements have had a profound and positive benefit or contribution to better safety on our highways. Nominees must exemplify leadership and demonstrate the goals of protecting lives and property in the motor transportation industry while serving their company, industry, and the motoring public.

Waddell has been in the trucking industry for 37 years and his focus has been on safety for more than 21 years. He began working as a driver in 1975 and moved into a safety position in 1991. He joined Cargo Transporters as safety director in 1999.

"We are in the people business," said Waddell after the ceremony. "Safety is always in the forefront; take care of your people and safety takes care of itself."

Under Waddell's leadership, Cargo Transporters has improved its year-over-year safety performance through implementation of improved safety and loss prevention techniques and safety technologies.

Waddell is responsible for numerous initiatives that have increased safety and health awareness and reduced costs at Cargo Transporters, including a training system that uses classroom, online and simulator components. With a strong focus on accountability, Waddell implemented an extensive monthly safety analysis report that provides upper management with critical information pertaining to training, DOT recordable accidents, CSA scores, SafeSTAT, ISS, and insurance.

As an active participant in TCA, Waddell is the second vice chair of the Safety & Security Division. He serves as product development chairman of the American Trucking Associations' Safety Management Council and as a pre-trip judge for the ATA National Truck Driving Championships. He is a board member with the Catawba Valley Traffic Club and a planning committee member of the North Carolina Statewide Safety Conference.

The annual Clare C. Casey award is named after a safety professional who actively served the Truckload Carriers Association from 1979 until 1989.