Vermont Bans Texting While Driving
June 01, 2010
Vermont Gov. Jim Douglas has signed an anti-texting-while-driving bill into law for all drivers in his state.
Vermont is the 27th state to pass a texting ban. The law also forbids all cell phone use for drivers 18 and younger.
The new Vermont law, which was effective June 1, imposes a $100 penalty for the first violation and a $250 penalty for repeat violations that occur within a two-year period. The law is primary, meaning police officers can stop motorists suspected of this offense alone.
U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood praised the action. An estimated 6,000 deaths and 500,000 injuries were attributed to distracted driving in 2008 alone. The DOT has already banned commercial truck and bus drivers from texting while driving.