Fleet Management

TCA Names Division Winners of National Fleet Safety Awards

February 05, 2016

SHARING TOOLS        | Print Subscribe
Last year's Fleet Safety Award winners recieving their awards. Photo: TCA
Last year's Fleet Safety Award winners recieving their awards. Photo: TCA

The Truckload Carriers Association has selected the division winners for its National Fleet Safety Awards, which honor trucking companies that demonstrate a commitment to safety and accident reduction.

The divisions are based on how many miles each fleet drove and winners were selected based on their accident frequency per million miles driven. The numbers were verified by an audit conducted by an independent expert.

The division winners will compete for two grand prizes in two mileage categories: less than 25 million annual miles and 25 million or more annual miles.

Companies will be judged on their overall safety programs both on-and off-highway. This includes employee driver and independent contractor selection procedures, training, supervision, accident investigation, inspection and maintenance of equipment and outside activities.

The top fleets in each division, as chosen by the TCA, are:

Division I Winners (under 5 million miles)

  1. Stageline Express, Coopersville, Michigan
  2. FTC Transportation, Inc., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  3. Rocha Transportation, Modesto, California

Division II Winners (5-14.99 million miles)

  1. MacKinnon Transport Inc, Guelph, Ontario
  2. Hi-Tech Express, Inc., Roseville, Minnesota
  3. Landstar Express America, Inc., Jacksonville, Florida

Division III Winners (15-24.99 million miles)

  1. Smokey Point Distributing, Arlington, Washington
  2. High Country Transportation, Midlothian, Texas

Division IV Winners (25-49.99 million miles)

  1. Halvor Lines, Inc., Superior, Wisconsin
  2. Trans-West, Lachine, Québec
  3. Erb International, Inc., New Hamburg, Ontario

Division V Winners (50-99.99 million miles)

  1. Groupe Robert Inc., Rougemont, Québec
  2. May Trucking Co., Salem, Oregon
  3. Cargo Transporters, Inc., Claremont, North Carolina

Division VI Winners (100+ million miles)

  1. Bison Transport Inc, Winnipeg, Manitoba
  2. Interstate Distributor, Tacoma, Washington
  3. Landstar Ranger, Inc., Jacksonville, Florida

The grand prize winners and division winners will be recognized at awards ceremonies to be held during TCA’s Annual Convention, March 6-9, 2016 in Las Vegas, Nev. They will also be recognized during TCA’s Safety & Security Division Annual Meeting, to be held May 22-24, 2016 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Comment On This Story

Comment: (Maximum 2000 characters)  
Leave this field empty:
* Please note that every comment is moderated.


We offer e-newsletters that deliver targeted news and information for the entire fleet industry.


ELDs and Telematics

sponsored by
sponsor logo

Scott Sutarik from Geotab will answer your questions and challenges

View All

Sleeper Cab Power

Steve Carlson from Xantrex will answer your questions and challenges

View All