Fleet Management

Truck Dealer of the Year Named

January 23, 2015

SHARING TOOLS        | Print Subscribe
2015 Truck Dealer of the Year winner Scott McCandless, president of McCandless Truck Center. Photo: Sherb Brown
2015 Truck Dealer of the Year winner Scott McCandless, president of McCandless Truck Center. Photo: Sherb Brown

Scott McCandless of McCandless Truck Center was named the 2015 Truck Dealer of the Year Friday during the 52nd Annual ATD Convention in San Francsico.

The award is presented by American Truck Dealers, Heavy Duty Trucking Magazine and Procede Software. HDT Publisher David Moniz was on hand to present the award.

"The Truck Dealer of the Year award process identifies and honors a successful dealer with a lifetime achievement award," said Moniz. "This dealer will represent the industry in Washington at Indiana University as a proven example of the best of our industry."

McCandless, president of the Aurora, Colo., dealership, was among a group of six dealers nominated for the award, including Brian Bruckner of Bruckner Truck Sales, Kevin G. Holmes of TriState Truck Center, Robert Neitzke of GATR Truck Center, Kari J. Rihm of Rihm Kenworth, and James Sayre Jr. of G.L. Sayre Inc.

“Scott McCandless has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to both customer and employee focused leadership in his dealership,” said the team that selected him as Truck Dealer of the Year.

McCandless joined the Colorado-based International dealership, then operating under another name, in 2000 as new truck sales manager. After a four-year stint as general manager, McCandless won a competitive selection process to become the DealCor manager for Rocky Mountain International in Denver. He completed the DealCor buyout in 2007. Today, McCandless Truck Center has revenues of more than $100 million.

"It is humbling to be selected from among such an accomplished group of truck dealers," said McCandless. "I look forward to forward to fulfilling my duties as Dealer of the Year and representing my industry to the best of my ability and thank you for this honor."

He has served fellow dealers by participating in the Navistar Dealer Council as a board member, vice chair and chair. He led the Dealer Council and Navistar dealers to proactively reach out to the Navistar Board of Directors about adding the Cummins engine to the company’s product line.

Brian M. Brucker, president of Bruckner Truck Sales in Amarillo, Texas, was selected as the Truck Dealer of the Year Finalist. The finalist will step into the Truck Dealer of the Year's role should the winner be unable to fulfill their duties.

Read more about the winner, finalist and nominees in the February issue of Heavy Duty Trucking.


  1. 1. Page 1 Express [ January 26, 2015 @ 07:14AM ]

    So glad they did not pick Bruckner from Oklahoma. They are the worst dealer We have ever dealt with. Do not help with any problems once you roll out of their driveway. You do not get what you think you are signing for either. Nothing but a bunch of crooks and liars.

  2. 2. sam [ January 27, 2015 @ 10:15AM ]

    Haven't met anyone yet in Colorado that likes dealing with McCandless so the criteria to 'win' this award must put a heavy weight on bad your customer service is. We go out of our way to avoid them.


Comment On This Story

Comment: (Maximum 2000 characters)  
Leave this field empty:
* Please note that every comment is moderated.


We offer e-newsletters that deliver targeted news and information for the entire fleet industry.


ELDs and Telematics

sponsored by
sponsor logo

Scott Sutarik from Geotab will answer your questions and challenges

View All

Sleeper Cab Power

Steve Carlson from Xantrex will answer your questions and challenges

View All