NPTC Announces Safety Award Winners

April 23, 2014

SHARING TOOLS        | Print Subscribe

The National Private Truck Council recognized those fleet members who continue to elevate safety performance during the group’s Annual Education Management Conference and Exhibition held April 13-15, 2014 in Cincinnati.

“The NPTC/Lytx, Inc. Fleet Safety Awards program recognizes NPTC member companies that work to make safety a priority in their private fleets’ operations,” said Carol Heinowski, logistics manager, safety and compliance for Meijer Inc. and chair of the NPTC Safety Committee. “The Fleet of the Year Awards in particular recognize companies with the lowest ratio of accidents per million miles for the past year.” The 2014 winners (based on safety performance achieved in 2013) are:

LOCAL OPERATIONS (fleets whose vehicles deliver in a local market regardless of size)

  • First Place: American Proteins, Inc.
  • Second Place: Clinton’s Ditch Cooperative Co. Inc.
  • Third Place: WilcoHess


  • First Place: Contract Transportation Systems/ The Sherwin-Williams Company

MIXED OPERATIONS (Small Fleet – less than 50 vehicles)

  • First Place (tie): Metal Exchange Corporation
  • Second Place: Sugar Foods Corporation
  • Third Place: New South Express, Inc.

MIXED OPERATIONS (Large Fleet – 50 vehicles or more)

  • First Place: ADM Alliance Nutrition
  • Second Place: Baxter Healthcare Supply Chain
  • Third Place: NEP Broadcasting

Also recognized, were those fleets with outstanding and/or improved safety records based upon their crash rates. Winners of the Gold Seal, awarded to fleets that experienced zero crashes in 2013, include:

  • ADM Alliance Nutrition
  • ADM Trucking, Inc.
  • Cooper Tire and Rubber Company
  • Staples, Inc.
  • Upstate Niagara Cooperative Inc. 

Winners of the Silver Seal, presented to those companies whose fleets reduced their vehicle crash rates by 40% or more compared to the previous year, were:

  • ADM Trucking, Inc.
  • Bridgestone Americas Tire Operations, LLC
  • CVS/Caremark
  • Frito-Lay, Inc.
  • Kraft Foods Group, Inc.
  • Staples, Inc.

The Bronze Seal recognition is presented to companies who have reduced their vehicle crash rates by 20% to 39% from the previous year. The winners of the Bronze Seal are:

  • ADM Trucking, Inc.
  • Bridgestone Americas Tire Operations, LLC
  • Cooper Tire and Rubber Company
  • CVS/Caremark
  • Frito-Lay, Inc.
  • Kraft Foods Group, Inc.
  • Orgill Transportation Company LLC 

Comment On This Story

Comment: (Maximum 2000 characters)  
Leave this field empty:
* Please note that every comment is moderated.


We offer e-newsletters that deliver targeted news and information for the entire fleet industry.


Sleeper Cab Power Experts

The expert, Steve Carlson from Xantrex, will answer your questions

View All